heartsandminds

explorations of a wanna-be difference-maker in nursing education and life in general

butterflies…

…feel as thought I’m about to jump on the world’s biggest roller coaster, but I’m simply, tentatively…logging my first blog post!  Entering a new frontier.  I – CAN – DO – THIS.  Sure I can.  I’ve got a resume that includes creation of a wiki as a preparation resource for second year nursing students starting a one month practicum in acute care cardiology.  I’ve  created a prezi to intro first years to the nursing care planning process.  I’m accessing nursing central on my ipod daily.  And I signed up for twitter in a February PD session and have done sweet tweet with it.

Who am I?  An almost 50 year old wife, mom, RN and now educator with a zeal for social justice.  In my current employ, I teach first and second year nursing students in labs and clinical settings the art and science of nursing.  I’m from a family of educators and ironically believed for most of my life that I wasn’t “one of them”.  Then, three years ago, at a re-focusing retreat in my church, I had to reckon with the stirring in my heart to teach.   It’s been the best move ever for me.  I feel alive in the greatest sense when with students, sharing my love for my profession, which is really all about intelligent caring.

I am on the life long learning journey along with all of you.  Currently, I’m in 2 online courses working toward a Master of Nursing.  I’m looking forward to learning with and from you and your amazing experiences.

Single Post Navigation

14 thoughts on “butterflies…

  1. good luck! I’m also the child of an educator who got caught in the tentacles of teaching!

  2. what a wonderful and inspiring story! =)

  3. It is great to know that there are always people drawn to the call of becoming educators, Judy! The idea of “intelligent caring” is an interesting one, I think – How to embody/impart/imbue this for/to/in our students? How to embed care within the curriculum? and a host of other interesting questions.

    Look at your blog as an opportunity to synthesize and share your ideas with your class community (and a few others of us ‘out here’ who are listening in), for conversation, reflection, or discussion. The process of communicating our journey, and connecting it to the work of others can be powerful so long as you are engaged in your search openly and honestly. I’ll think you’ll begin to find that there is an abundance of intelligent caring in the blogosphere, enough to sustain you on your quest, for certain!

  4. Hi,

    I used to work with lots of great nursing and midwifery educators at La Trobe University. I know there are great opportunities for edtech in the discipline. I never managed to get them blogging (it was a few years ago) but I did get them thinking quite differently about their content and their assessment which was great fun.

    Good luck with your blog. I’ve found mine to be valuable in helping me sort out my thoughts. The thought of them being public means that you have to try and be balanced which is quite good for as I tend to be quite opinionated.

    Cheers

    Mark

  5. Greetings Judy!
    I’m also from a family of educators and am now an International Baccalaureate curriculum coordinator at a PK-12 school in Hawaii. This is such an incredible field to touch lives and influence the future, which is what you also do in the nursing field!
    Good luck with your blog! You have inspired me to start one (2 minutes ago)! I haven’t written anything yet, but will soon!
    Aloha, Diane

  6. Hi Judy,
    Got your blog from Alec’s twitter post. You are not alone, and what a coincidence that yours and mine shared the same blog header theme! My first name also started with J – John. You have been teaching for a while, so yes, the learning journey could be fun, when you are having a network of educators and learners flapping their butterfly wings along. Enjoy.
    John

  7. Welcome to Twitter and education. It is a wonderful profession. Enjoy your Masters and blogging.

  8. I’m sure you know this framework from your nursing studies. Ward & McCotter’s model has helped people to expand their reflections. I hope you find it useful to deepen your blog reflections

  9. Hola! Te saludo desde Guadalajara, una ciudad mexicana, desde dónde te leo y te deseo éxito en tu recién iniciado blog. Mucha suerte! Que lo disfrutes!
    L

  10. welcome to the blogosphere!

  11. thanks for the feedback – gratifying indeed as I posted a couple of weeks ago for my online nursing leadership course that, as an educator, I aspire to inspire. I look forward to reading your first blog post Diane. Include some photos of beautiful Hawaii!

  12. Actually we don’t use this particular rubric for critical reflection in nursing, so I located and printed a copy. I will certainly attempt to “move over to the right” with time… right now I’m a little too preoccupied with learning the basics to demonstrate qualities from the “transformative” column. thanks.
    Judy

  13. thanks, I think I could get hooked!

  14. Hola! I am visiting Mexico for the first time this December. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

