heartsandminds

explorations of a wanna-be difference-maker in nursing education and life in general

Telling my colleagues’ stories…of pioneering in nursing ed.

Pioneer Hardship by LParisi, on Flickr
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 2.0 Generic License  by  LParisi 
v.tr.
1.a. To open up (an area) or prepare (a way): rockets that pioneered outer space. b. To settle (a region).
2. To initiate or participate in the development of

from the free dictionary.

My spare time this last week has been spent editing videotaped interviews of 7 innovative colleagues and 6 second year students.  I’m distilling about 2 hours of footage down to 12-15 minutes, including transition and explanation slides.  Prior to this course, I  left these tech-jobs to  hubby, who I considered more adept… and truthfully, I had no interest in learning this skill.  Now that I know how to do this, I can easily imagine creating other projects for personal or professional use.   iMovie is very user-friendly, especially combined with the youtube video from helpful tween-experts.
I’m excited to have this presentation ready to go for our January faculty meeting.  Just as we’ve so much enjoyed learning from each other in this course, we love learning from each other within our own faculty, but the reality of clinical teaching in nursing education poses a unique challenge to synchronous dialogue about practice.  So I think, or hope, anyway, that the stories that the innovators in the “movie” tell will inspire, encourage, provoke and teach the rest of us.  They will acknowledge the innovators, who all sacrificed their personal time and energy, beyond work hours, to break the ground and prepare the way for the early  adopters, the early and late majority and eventually, the laggards .   I am thrilled to have learned the skills to be the vehicle for the stories!
<
The Four Stages of Getting on Twitter In by Roobee, on Flickr
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 2.0 Generic License  by  Roobee 
What do you think of this pictorial sum-up of twitter?  Is this accurate?  I think I’m a 3.  Where are you on the graphic?
Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Telling my colleagues’ stories…of pioneering in nursing ed.

  1. Sounds like a great project Judy. I’d love to see it when your done. Look at all you’ve learned this term. We’ll need to help one another to keep the momentum going.

    Looks like its snowing in Saskatoon (LOL – at least on your screen), sun is out in Regina…….

    Re Twitter – I am all over the scale, but closing in on a 3….

Leave a Reply

